Thread: Hi

Default Hi

I'm just downloading the game,and wanted to ask if the game is still active or not.
    And do you have any advice?I'm completely new at this game.What class should i pick for example?

Thanks

It's definitely active, you'll see for yourself soon in Tortage, the starter area.
    Make sure you choose Crom server for PvE and Fury if you're more focused on hardcore PvP.
    But most people are on Crom and that's what I recommend.
    Starter class is difficult to pinpoint, since I don't know your preferences.
    There are 4 archetypes (mage, healer, soldier and rogues) with 3 classes o f each. Race will matter in regard to which class you want.
    A few classes feel really unique to this game, like a melee healer (Bear Shaman) and melee mage (Herald of Xotli).
    All in all, for a fun intro I suggest a melee class, since the melee combat system is one thing that sets AoC apart from most MMOs, and has some great fatalities etc.

Have fun!

Try a barbarian. It's easy to play while levelling up and in endgame it's really good dps, both single target and AoE.

Bear shaman requires some micromanagement, but its easier to find groups and raids and they have the best fatality ever: at lvl 80 hit someone in the lower parts with a 2H blunt stick and pull their little heads off when they bend over in agony.

Finestkind

When you get into the game you'll start in the solo starter area and once you finish that you'll move to the MMO section of Tortage.

I mention this because the solo area is a great place to try out the different classes. DON'T be afraid to delete a character and replay the area. We're only talking maybe 30 min of time for the solo area, so replaying it with a different class isn't a big issue. Better to find out you don't like a class in the solo area where it's not a great loss to restart than down the road.