Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Completely New Player: Crom or Fury

Default New Player: Crom or Fury & Class Choice

Hello, I'm completely new to AoC and I want to test it out. I like world pvp a lot, so I thought I wanted to be on the Fury realm. But I here it's basically dead. Does this mean that I pretty much have no choice but to be on Crom? Basically, would it be very ill-advised of me to choose Fury at this point?

Edit: Adding to this is the tough class choice, there's a decent list to choose from. In a most basic sense I've narrowed it down to 3 classes. I want to use magic and do melee combat, so I'm trying to decide between the Bear Shaman, Dark Templar, and the Herald of Xotli. If someone could give some incite there it would be nice. But what would be awesome is an overview of all classes, what their strengths and weaknesses are, and how well they fair in pvp.
    Last edited by learis; 4th September 2016 at 16:12.

I played in Fury last month for a bit and it looked quite dead. Crom is a lot more populated and there are minis going all day long. You get 1 week a month of PvP event in Border Kingdoms, which is the only open-world PvP in Crom, apart from sieges.

About the classes, the only magic bs uses is defensive - it just heals, buffs or debuffs - then dt does melee combos and part of his damage is magic but it's just that the combo damage is magical; actual spells dt has just a few, and only one is aggressive, the hex. If you really want to combine magic and melee, go for hox. Hox can use fire breath every 5 seconds, biggest source of damage, along with some other spells, and then also uses combos.

Bs is a beast in duels (very strong melee class), dt can do insane damage but it relies on crits a lot and also uses 1h so the weapon reach is shorter, and hox is squishy and involves moving and jumping around the most, but can melt entire teams.